Singapore reveals Jurong Region Line alignment

Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced the alignment and station locations for the seventh MRT line in Singapore, the Jurong Region Line (JRL), which will be an elevated MRT line, serving the existing and future developments in the western part of Singapore.
Under the 2013 Master Plan, the JRL was announced as a 20 km-line, but following detailed engineering studies, the JRL will now be 24-km long and will feature 24 stations, including three interchange stations at Boon Lay, Choa Chu Kang and Jurong East MRT Stations.
The construction of the JRL viaducts and stations will involve the diversion of major utilities and services, as the alignment is mostly along existing roads. As additional time is needed to complete the diversion works before the commencement of construction, the JRL will open in three stages starting 2026, with the first phase comprising the West section, between Choa Chu Kang to Boon Lay and Tawas (10 stations).
In 2027, the East section will be opened, comprising 7 stations which will provide the connection between Tengah and Pandan Reservoir. In 2028, LTA will open the third phase, completing the JRL West route, by extensions into NTU in the west and Jurong Pier in the south.
The JRL will improve connectivity in the western part of Singapore, by serving areas that currently do not have direct links to the rail network such as NTU, Jurong Industrial Estate, Jurong Innovation District, Pandan Reservoir and the future Tengah area. The stations at Choa Chu Kang, Boon Lay and Jurong areas are expected to add more than 60,000 additional households within a 10-minute walk from a train station. The JRL will also improve the resilience of the rail network and provide commuters with alternative travel routes.
The new line is expected to serve more than 200,000 commuters daily in the initial years. This figure would rise to more than 500,000 when other districts will be fully developed.

Share on: