Renfe and CAF sign train contract

metre-gauge trainsThe president of Renfe, Isaías Táboas, and the president of CAF, have signed a EUR 258 million contract for the supply of 37 metre-gauge trains for suburban and medium-distance transport services. At the end of June, Renfe has selected CAF for the delivery of the new train fleet.

The contract also includes an option for the delivery of up to six additional electric multiple units and additional hybrid trains.

Under the contract, CAF will deliver 31 trains of which 26 electric multiple units and five hybrid trains which will provide commuter and medium-distance services. The electric trains will be equipped with batteries to allow last – mile operation and the five hybrid trains will allow the use of electric voltage on the electrified railway lines reducing emissions. They will also be suitable to conversion to battery of fuel cell operation.

For a better adaptation to transport demand, the trains will be two-car and three-car sets.

The six Alpine 1000mm-gauge trains will be used for the C-9 line of Madrid Cercanías (the communter rail network) linking Cercedilla municipality (in the Community of Madrid) with Puerto de Cotos, in the Guadarrama Mountains.

The contract involves the provision of maintenance services for a period of 15 years for 18 of the delivered trains, which includes the six Alpine trains. The maintenance services will be carried out through a joint venture between CAF and Renfe Fabricación y Mantenimiento.

The new trains will replace the existing ones reducing the average age of operator’s metre-gauge rolling stock fleet from 28 years to 15 years. They will provide additional capacity, increased passenger comfort and access for passengers with reduced mobility. All trains will have dedicated places for bicycles.

They will also increase the reliability and will be energy efficient.

The CAF trains will run at a maximum speed of 100 km/h.

The new metre-gauge trains will enter commercial operation in Asturias, Cantabria, the Basque Country, Galicia, Castille and León and Murcia.

Share on: