Lithuanian maintenance company VLRD merged with LTG Cargo

Vilnius Locomotive Repair Depot Vilnius Locomotive Repair Depot (VLRD), a company of the Lithuanian Railways (LTG) Group became part of the rail freight operator LTG Cargo operating as a single company starting April 1, 2021.

This merger is aimed at consolidating competencies for business activities and generating higher value for the Lithuanian Railways.

As a result of this change, VLRD has been integrated into LTG Cargo organisation to further provide rolling stock repair and modernisation services in the market under the new brand LTG Tech. The new company is part LTG Group’s renewal to mark a new stage in aiming to build stronger positions through competing for rolling stock maintenance contracts in Central and Eastern Europe.

“The synergies of both companies pave the way for increased efficiency of LTG Group, as well as for its higher competitiveness and greater value creation. We have ambitions in terms of expanding business across international markets. The combining of carrier and rolling stock maintenance businesses will allow us building stronger positions in those markets as we will provide a wide range of services from one hand,” LTG’s CEO Mantas Bartuška said.

LTG Cargo Group comprises the subsidiaries LTG Cargo Polska, LTG Cargo Ukraine and LTG Wagons.

LTG Tech provides integrated rolling stock and freight wagon repair and modernisation services in Central and Eastern Europe and operates the repair depots in Vilnius, Radviliškis, Kaunas and Klaipėda.

Vilnius Locomotive Repair Depot was established in 1884 when the Vilnius locomotive depot was set up. Currently, the company the biggest and most advanced rolling stock repair centre in the region. VLRD provides complex services of locomotive manufacturing, track machinery, as well as repair and modernising of freight and passenger wagons. The company provides major part of its services to its main customer, the Lithuanian Railways. A significant share of production is exported to Estonia, Latvia, Russian, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, and other foreign countries.

Share on: