Argentina, Israel and Morocco join ITF

new-membersThe International Transport Forum at the OECD has three new member countries. Argentina, Israel and Morocco were unanimously accepted into the organisation by its top decision-making body. The decision takes the number of ITF member countries to 57.
Morocco is the ITF’s first full member on the African continent. “Morocco’s accession will be a plus for the Forum. It is also a positive development for Morocco”, said Mohamed Najib Boulif, Morocco’s Deputy Minister of Transport.
Israel joins the ITF after becoming a member of the Organisation of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in 2010. “Israel is keen to contribute to the work of the ITF, and to be inspired by it”, said Moshe Kamhi of Israel’s delegation to the OECD on occasion of Israel’s accession.
Argentina is the second ITF member country from South America, following the accession of Chile in 2012. Argentina has been actively involved with the ITF’s permanent working group on road safety (known as IRTAD) since 2009. It has been a leading force in establishing the Ibero-American Road Safety Observatory (OISEVI), for which IRTAD operates a Spanish-language database with road crash information.

Share on: