New commuter line opened in Denver

Denver N Line commuterThe Regional Transportation District (RTD) has inaugurated the first phase of Denver N Line commuter rail service linking the city centre with Thornton municipality, situated north/northeast Denver.

“The opening of the N Line is a tremendous milestone for not only the northern communities, but the whole region. Now our riders are even more connected to our thriving metro area,” RTD Board of Directors Chair Angie Rivera-Malpiede said.

The 21-km rail line served by seven stations including the Union Station, to the Eastlake station. It provides a key transport connection for people in the northern suburbs to downtown Denver and Denver International Airport, with expanded possibilities for work and travel.

The USD 832 million project was funded through local RTD taxes and Certificate of Participation (COP) financing. Repayment of financing of the COP will come from available

revenue sources, including sales and use taxes and fare collections.

“I’m excited for all that the N Line will bring to the Denver metro region. Not only will it bring another option to being stuck in traffic, but more importantly, connectivity to the entire RTD system. The positive impacts of this new commuter rail line will not only create enhanced mobility today, but will pay dividends for decades to come,” RTD Chief Executive Officer Paul Ballard said.

The Denver N Line commuter rail adds more commuter rail service to connect the metro Denver region. The line will be extended by 9 km which will provide transport service to SH 7/162nd Avenue station. The line will have a total length of almost 30 km with nine stations offering transport connections from Union Station through Denver, Commerce City, Northglenn, Thornton, and North Adams County. The new line will offer various transport links. At the Union station, passengers can connect to the three light rail lines (C, E and W lines), the University of Colorado A Line to the airport, the B Line to Westminster, the G Line to Arvada/Wheat Ridge, Local and Regional buses, the Free MallRide, and Free MetroRide.


Share on: