European awards recognise cities for excellence in sustainable mobility

Dresden-tramwaysTwo prizes for innovation in urban mobility will be awarded on 23 March 2015 in Brussels, Belgium. European Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc will present the awards at a special ceremony.
The finalists for the 2014 SUMP award are Bremen (Germany), Dresden (Germany), Ghent (Belgium).
The winning city will take home EUR 10 000, which can then be spent on further promoting the SUMP. Last year Rivas-Vaciamadrid in Spain came in first place, and this year’s winner will be revealed at the ceremony. 17 applications from 10 EU countries have been submitted.
This year, the award focuses on cities that have shown excellent monitoring and evaluation of both the planning and implementation of their SUMPs. This is critical in ensuring the long-term success of their strategies.

Share on: